

## ACCRUED SICK AND SAFE LEAVE ACT OF 2008 AND EARNED SICK AND SAFE LEAVE AMENDMENT ACT OF 2013

The Accrued Sick and Safe Leave Act of 2008 and the Earned Sick and Safe Leave Amendment Act of 2013 enable full-time and part-time employees, who spend 50 % or more of their time working in the District, to receive paid leave for absences resulting from a medical condition or caring for ill family members, receiving medical care for themselves or their family members and any issues pertaining to domestic violence or sexual abuse.

If an employer has	Employees accrue at least	Not to exceed
100 or more employees	1 hour per 37 hours worked	7 days per calendar year
25 to 99 employees	1 hour per 43 hours worked	5 days per calendar year
Less than 25 employees	1 hour per 87 hours worked	3 days per calendar year
Tipped restaurant employees	1 hour per 43 hours worked	5 days per calendar year

## Facts about the Accrued Sick and Safe Leave Act...

Paid leave accrues at the start of employment and on an employer's established pay period. Leave that is accrued during a 12-month period, and isn't used, will carry over to the next year.

- Employers may keep their current sick and safe leave policies if employees can accrue and access paid leave at the same rate or greater than the hours of paid leave provided in the 2008 Act or if paid leave can be used for the same purposes as those set in both acts.
- Employees may be required to show their employers reasonable certification for an absence of 3 or more days in the form of a signed doctor's note, a police report or a signed statement from a counselor showing that they or a family member were involved in a domestic violence case.
- When possible, employees should give the employer at least 10 days' notice for leave or as early as possible. If the leave is last minute, the employee should verbally notify the employer prior to the beginning of the work shift that they will be taking leave or within 24 hours of the emergency, whichever occurs first.
- When the employee resigns, is terminated or laid off, the unpaid leave is not required to be paid. However, if an employee has an unpaid leave balance and returns within one year, the leave is then reinstated. If an employee has been separated for one year or longer, their leave balance expires.

If you have any questions, please visit www.does.dc.gov or call the Office of Wage -Hour at (202)-671-1880, or visit us at 4058 Minnesota Ave. NE, Washington, DC 20019.

