### **GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA**

Department of Employment Services

MURIEL BOWSER MAYOR



ODIE DONALD II DIRECTOR

#### **NOTICE OF NEW REGULATIONS**

# D.C. Act 21-485 (Act), also known as the Building Service Employees Minimum Work Week Act of 2016.

#### Under this Act, covered employees shall be scheduled to work the minimum work week of at least 30 hours.

#### What is a Building Service Employee

• A covered employee who performs janitorial services, building maintenance services, or other services in or around a covered location to maintain the repair, cleanliness, and overall quality of the covered location or place of business.

#### **Certain exceptions apply**

• When a covered employee is taking covered leave, the leave shall count towards the 30-hour minimum work week; provided that at each covered location, up to 20% of the work hours that are available for covered employees engaged in cleaning service may be preserved for part-time covered employees with a minimum shift of 4 hours per night and 20 hours per week per covered employee for up to a total of 10 part-time positions permitted per covered location.

#### **Posting Requirements**

- A covered employer shall post and maintain the notice in a conspicuous place, which shall be prescribed by the Mayor and provided to each covered employer that shall include excerpts or summaries of the pertinent provisions of this Act and information about filing of a complaint pursuant to the Act.
- A covered employer shall post every notice required to be posted by this act in English and all languages spoken by covered employees with limited or no-English proficiency, as defined in section 2 of the Language Access Act of 2004, effective June 19, 2004 (D.C. Law 15-167;D.C. Official Code g 2-t931). (b) A covered employer who fails to comply with the posting requirements of this section shall be subject to the penalty set forth. (See section 8 of the Act for penalties)

#### **Penalties**

- A covered employer who willfully violates the posting requirements of section 5 shall be assessed a civil penalty not to exceed \$100 for each day that the covered employer fails to post the notice; provided, that the total penalty shall not exceed \$500.
- A covered employer who fails to comply with any of the requirements of this act, other than the posting requirements, shall be subject to a fine of not more than \$5,000 for each violation for each day that the violation continues. For the first violation, a maximum fine of up to (A) \$500 will be imposed; and (B) for any subsequent violation, a maximum fine of up to \$1,000.

## For the complete text of the Building Service Employees Minimum Work Week Act of 2016, go to D.C. Act 21-485.

If you have any questions, please contact or visit: Department of Employment Services, Office of Wage-Hour, 4058 Minnesota Avenue, SE, Suite 3600, Washington, D.C. 20019, (202) 671-1880.