
maximum weekly benefits amount. Additional 
benefits are payable to dependents. If there are 
no beneficiaries, the employer will pay $5,000 
into the Special Fund.

TYPES OF DISABILITY COVERED
Temporary Total Disability (TTD): The worker 
is totally disabled for a certain time period, 
benefits are paid at 66 2/3% of the AWW.
Temporary Partial Disability (TPD): The worker 
is partially disabled for a certain time period, 
benefits are paid at 66 2/3% of the AWW. 
Permanent Partial Disability (PPD): The 
worker has permanently lost a body member or 
the use of a body member, benefits are based 
on a scheduled award and TPD or TTD.
Permanent Total Disability (PTD): The worker 
is (1) disabled and cannot earn any wages in the 
same or other employment; or,  (2) has loss of 
both hands, arms, feet, legs, eyes, or any two 
thereof. In either case, benefits may be paid at 
66 2/3% of the AWW.
Disfigurement:  Serious disfigurement to 
the face, head, neck or normally exposed 
bodily area(s) shall entitle the worker to a 
compensation award of up to $7,500.

UNREASONABLE DELAY
In cases where OWC determines that an 
employer/carrier has unreasonably delayed 
payment of any installment of compensation 
in bad faith, the employer shall pay the worker 
their actual weekly wage in addition to any 
compensation due and payable during the 
period of delay.

HEARINGS AND APPEALS
If the claim is denied, OWC will investigate the 
claim and may conduct an informal conference 

for dispute resolution. If all interested parties 
reach an agreement, OWC will issue a Final 
Order. If one of the parties does not agree with 
the Memorandum of Informal Conference, 
the aggrieved party has fourteen (14) working 
days to notify OWC, in writing, and file for a 
Formal Hearing within thirty-four (34) working 
days. After the issuance of the Memorandum of 
Informal Conference, either party may file for 
an Application for Formal Hearing (AFH) with 
the Administrative Hearings Division (AHD). An 
Administrative Law Judge will conduct a formal 
hearing and issue a Compensation Order. 
Any aggrieved party may file an Application 
For Review (AFR) with the Compensation 
Review Board (CRB). The AFR must be filed 
within thirty (30) calendar days. If there is still a 
dispute, either party may appeal the Decision 
and Order to the D.C. Court of Appeals within 
thirty (30) calendar days after the Decision 
and Order is issued. If a claim is disputed, no 
benefits may be paid until the dispute has been 
resolved.

An employer may not discharge or otherwise 
discriminate against an employee who files or 
attempts to file a workers’ compensation claim. 
A worker who has testified or is about to testify 
in a workers’ compensation proceeding is also 
protected. Violation will result in a penalty up to 
$1,000. For such violation, an employee may be 
restored to employment and receive back pay. 
The employer alone shall pay the penalties. 
An employer and/or the president, secretary, 
and treasurer of a corporation are severally 
and personally liable for any fines for failure 
to secure compensation coverage, and for the 
payment of any benefits that may accrue for an 
injury while uninsured.

If you have any questions. . . 

Ask your insurance agent, broker, or 
carrier. For additional information or 
assistance contact:

Department of Employment Services
Labor Standards Bureau
Office of Workers’ Compensation
4058 Minnesota Avenue N.E., 3rd Floor
Washington, D.C.  20019
(202) 671-1000 (voice)
(202) 671-1929 (fax)
Website:  www.does.dc.gov

Notice of Non-Discrimination
In accordance with the D.C. Human Rights 
Act of 1977, as amended, D.C. Official 
Code, Section 2-1401.01 et seq., (Act), the 
District of Columbia does not discriminate 
on the basis of actual or perceived: race, 
color, religion, national origin, sex, age, 
marital status, personal appearance, sexual 
orientation, gender identity or expression, 
familial status, family responsibilities, 
matriculation, political affiliation, genetic 
information, disability, source of income, 
status as a victim of an intra-family offense, 
and place of residence or business. 

Sexual harassment is a form of sex 
discrimination which is prohibited by the 
Act. Discrimination is in violation of the Act 
and will not be tolerated. Violators will be 
subject to disciplinary action.

The Department of Employment Services is 
an Equal Opportunity Employer/Provider.
Auxiliary aids and services are available 
upon request to persons with disabilities.
Interpreters are available upon request.

OWC Department of Employment Services

OFFICE OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION



The District of Columbia Workers’ 
Compensation Act of 1979, D.C. Law 3-77 (as 
amended), is administered by the Department 
of Employment Services, Labor Standards 
Bureau, Office of Workers’ Compensation 
(OWC).

In the District of Columbia, workers’ 
compensation is a no fault insurance program 
that provides benefits to workers who are 
injured on the job. The employee has given 
up the right to sue the employer, in return for 
the guaranteed payment of medical treatment 
and indemnity benefits to replace lost wages. 
In turn, the employer gives up the common 
law defenses of contributory negligence, 
assumption of risk, and injuries caused by a 
fellow employee.

Most District employers secure coverage 
for workers’ compensation by purchasing an 
insurance policy from an insurance company 
licensed in the District of Columbia. Employers 
may apply to OWC to be certified as self-
insured whereby they retain the liability to 
provide statutory benefits. Applicants for 
self-insured status may be required to post a 
substantial bond. Employers must secure and 
maintain coverage until their self-insured status 
is approved. Call OWC for more information.

WHO IS COVERED
Employers with one or more employees should 
obtain coverage for all of their employees in 
the District of Columbia. Employers who have 
employees located outside the District are 
required to have a workers’ compensation 
insurance policy for coverage under the 
laws of the other states. Sole proprietors, 

casual workers, and unpaid volunteers are 
not covered. Employees of the Federal or 
District Government are covered by similar 
but different laws. An employer of a domestic 
worker(s) who works a combined 240 hours 
or more per 13-week calendar quarter 
(approximately 19 hours per week), must obtain 
coverage. If you have questions regarding 
coverage requirements, contact your insurance 
agent, broker, carrier, or OWC. IF YOU FAIL TO 
OBTAIN COVERAGE, YOU CAN BE FINED UP 
TO $10,000.

WHAT IS COVERED
Any injury or illness to your employees 
resulting from their job is covered by workers’ 
compensation, no matter how serious or minor 
the injury. Workers’ compensation protection 
begins the first minute your employee(s) begins 
their job in the District of Columbia.

REPORTS NEEDED
All employers in the District of Columbia 
must post a Notice of Compliance, Form 1 
DCWC, in each workplace site where it is 
visible to all employees. This poster describes 
your insurance information and the rights 
of employees, and can be obtained from 
your carrier or OWC. You are required to 
file an Employer’s First Report of Injury or 
Occupational Disease, Form 8 DCWC, with 
OWC no later than ten (10) working days after 
the injury or death or when you have knowledge 
of the injury or illness. A copy of Form 8 DCWC 
should be sent to your carrier and employee. 
Upon submitting this form to OWC, you are 
also required to send your employee the 
Employee’s Rights and Obligations statement. 
Other required forms may be filed through your 

insurance carrier, such as: 
• Form 9 DCWC, Memo of Payment of 

Workers’ Compensation
• Form 10 DCWC, Wage Schedule; 
• Form 11 DCWC, Notice of Controversion 

Memo of Denial of Workers’ 
Compensation; 

• Form 13 DCWC, Report of Extended 
Disability; 

• Form 14 DCWC, Memo of Permanent 
Partial Disability; 

• Form 15 DCWC, Notice of Final Payment 
of Compensation Payment; and 

• Form 20 DCWC, Application for Formal 
Hearing. 

All forms can be downloaded from http://does.
dc.gov/page/workers-compensation-does. 
FAILURE TO FILE ANY REQUIRED REPORT 
MAY RESULT IN A $1,000 PENALTY.

TYPES OF BENEFITS PAID
You are legally responsible for paying the cost 
of all medical treatment, medical supplies, 
vocational rehabilitation benefits, and 66 2/3% 
of the Average Weekly Wages (AWW) lost for 
any employee injured on the job. Unless you 
controvert a claim, you must pay benefits within 
fourteen (14) working days of knowledge of 
the work-related injury/illness that prevents 
the employee from earning wages for more 
than three (3) days. If you believe the injury is 
not work-related, you must file Form 11 DCWC 
within the fourteen (14) day time period. 
FAILURE TO FILE DCWC FORM 11, WHILE 
FAILING TO PAY BENEFITS, WILL RESULT IN 
A PENALTY.

MEDICAL BENEFITS
A worker, injured on the job or with a work-

related illness, has the right to immediate 
medical treatment and is free to choose any 
attending physician. If the employee is unable 
to choose a physician because of a severe injury 
or unconsciousness, the employer may choose a 
physician for immediate attention; however, the 
employee still has the right to choose another 
attending physician at a later date. Employers/
Insurance carriers must provide cost-free 
necessary medical care. Medical services and 
supplies may include medical, surgical, and 
hospital care, osteopathic, dental, podiatric 
and chiropractic treatment, prescribed 
medications, x-rays, braces, prosthetic devices, 
and wheelchairs.

LOSS OF INCOME BENEFITS
If an employee cannot work because of a 
job-related injury or illness that disables them 
for more than three (3) days, the employee 
is eligible for benefits to replace part of the 
lost wages. These benefits are determined 
by the employee’s AWW, but cannot exceed 
the maximum weekly benefit amount which is 
calculated annually. For injuries occurring on 
or after March 6, 1991, the weekly benefits for 
lost wages will equal 66 2/3% of the AWW. If an 
employee cannot work for more than fourteen 
(14) days, the three (3) day waiting period does 
not apply.

FATAL INJURY BENEFITS
If your employee dies as a result of a work-
related injury or occupational disease, the 
surviving spouse and dependents as defined by 
law, may be entitled to death benefits and burial 
expenses up to $5,000. The amount of benefits 
to be paid is computed at 50% of the deceased 
worker’s AWW, but cannot exceed the 
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