One City One Hire is an innovative economic development strategy that serves as a catalyst to jump-start the Mayor's pledge to put all unemployed District residents--in every Ward of the city--back to work.
Wage and Hour Compliance
2014 Living Wage for District of Columbia Contractors is $13.60
The 2014 Living Wage for contractors of the District of Columbia Government is now $13.60, retroactive to January 1, 2014. For detailed information regarding the 2014 Living Wage for the District of Columbia, please read the updated Living Wage Act of 2006 Fact Sheet. The Living Wage Act of 2006 Poster has been updated to reflect the 2014 Living Wage. For additional information regarding the 2013 Living Wage, please read the 2013 Living Wage FAQs.
Wage and Hour Compliance involves administering the wage laws of the District of Columbia.
- The DC Minimum Wage Act Revision of 1992 [PDF] establishes that the minimum wage be paid to any employee by any employer in the District of Columbia as “the minimum wage set by the United States government pursuant to the Fair Labor Standards Act, plus $1”. Every employer subject to the provisions of the Act must post the Minimum Wage Poster [PDF] in or about the premises at which any employee covered is employed.
- The DC Wage Payment and Wage Collection Law [PDF] requires that all employers pay their employees at least twice monthly on designated paydays, pay all earned and promised wages and pay wages timely upon termination of employment.
- The DC Wage Garnishment Law [PDF] protects the wage earner's pay from unlawful garnishments.
- The Wage-Hour Rules [PDF] provide, among other things, sub-minimum wage rates for newly hired workers and minors. The rules also provide for the establishment of reasonable allowance levels for work-related situations or special conditions associated with employment relationships, such as travel allowances, meal and uniform allowances.
- The Accrued Sick and Safe Leave Act of 2008 [PDF] requires employers in the District of Columbia to provide paid leave to employees for illness and for absences associated with domestic violence or sexual abuse.
- The Accrued Sick and Safe Rules [PDF] implement the provisions of the Accrued Sick and Safe Leave Act of 2008.
- Accrued Sick and Safe Leave Act of 2008 Poster [PDF]
- Notice of Proposed Rulemaking: Accrued Sick and Safe Leave Act of 2008 (Hardship Waiver) [PDF]
The Office of Wage-Hour conducts compliance audits. The office may recover back wages for employees who have not been paid pursuant to these laws, either administratively or through court action.
The “Living Wage Act of 2006,” Title I of D.C. Law 16-18, (D.C. Official Code §§2-220.01-.11) became effective June 9, 2006. It provides that District of Columbia government contractors and recipients of government assistance (grants, loans, tax increment financing) in the amount of $100,000 or more shall pay affiliated employees wages no less than the current living wage rate. The current living wage rate is $12.50 per hour.
- DC Council Living Wage Act of 2006 [PDF]
- Living Wage Act Final Rule Making [PDF]
- Living Wage Act of 2006 Poster [PDF]
- Living Wage Act of 2006 Fact Sheet [PDF]
How to File a Claim
You may complete the online wage claim form for unpaid wages if:
- Your work was performed in the District
- If you were not a part of the management of the company
- You were not an independent contractor
If you worked in Maryland, you must contact the Maryland Department of Labor and Industry at (410) 767-2357.
If you worked in Virginia, you must contact the Virginia Department of Labor at (804) 371-2327.
If you were a part of management, contact the Office of Wage-Hour at (202) 671-1880.
If you are filling a claim for unpaid overtime, contact the Office of Wage-Hour at (202) 671-1880, and your complaint will be taken over the phone.
If you were an independent contractor, please file your claim directly in Small Claims Court.
A Compliance Specialist can take minimum wage and overtime/living wage claims over the phone or the employee may visit the office. Claims filed pursuant to the Wage Payment and Wage Collection Law and the Accrued Sick and Safe Leave Act are required to be in writing and accompanied by a notarized form assigning the claim to the Office of Wage-Hour. These forms can be mailed to you upon request or you may file your claim in person at the Office of Wage-Hour.
For more information, contact the following:
DC Department of Employment Services
Labor Standards Bureau
Office of Wage-Hour
4058 Minnesota Avenue, NE, Fourth Floor
Washington, DC 20019
Phone: (202) 671-1880
Fax: (202) 673-6411
Hours of Operation: Monday- Friday, 8:30 am-5 pm