One City One Hire is an innovative economic development strategy that serves as a catalyst to jump-start the Mayor's pledge to put all unemployed District residents--in every Ward of the city--back to work.
Workers' Compensation - DOES
The Workers' Compensation Program processes claims and monitors the payment of benefits to injured private-sector employees in the District of Columbia. Disputes between claimants and employers (or their insurance carriers) are mediated and employers are monitored to ensure compliance with insurance coverage requirements. The program administers the special/second injury fund, which provides benefits in cases of uninsured employers or in instances where an injury combines with a pre-existing disability to cause a substantially greater disability. Also, the program approves lump-sum settlements, assesses penalties and fines for non-compliance with the law and monitors vocational rehabilitation.
How to File a Claim
- Report job-related injury or illness promptly to employer.
- Report job-related injury or illness in writing to the Office of Workers’ Compensation within 30 days of occurrence or awareness.
- Complete the DCWC Form 7 [PDF]. The form can be obtained from the employer, insurance carrier, or Office of Workers' Compensation.
- Keep a copy of the completed form for your records, file a copy with your employer and send the original to the Office of Workers' Compensation.
- DCWC Form 7A [PDF] must be filed within one year after injury or death. The form can be obtained from the employer, insurance carrier, or the Office of Workers' Compensation.
Workers' Compensation Forms
- Form OWC-7: Employee's notice of accidental injury or occupational disease [PDF]
- OWC-7A: Employee's claim application [PDF]
- OWC-8: Employer's first report of injury or occupational disease [PDF]
- OWC-9: Memo of payment of worker's compensation [PDF]
- OWC-10: Wage Schedule [PDF]
- OWC-11: Notice of Controversion memo of denial of worker's compensation
- OWC-12: Medical Report
- OWC-15: Notice of final payment of compensation payments
- OWC-20: Application for formal hearing
- OWC Quarterly Premium Surcharge Payment Form [PDF]
- Employee's Rights and Obligations Information Sheet [PDF]
- Workers' Compensation Notice of Compliance, Employer Form No. 1DCWC [PDF]
- Application for Informal/Mediation Conference [PDF]
- Maximum-Minimum Compensation Rate/Supplemental Allowance [PDF]
- Employers' Quarterly Premium Surcharge Procedures
- OWC Premium Surcharge Rate
- Notice of Termination of Coverage (Rescinsion)
- Employers' Workers' Compensation Insurance Coverage Verification
- Medicare Fee Schedule
- Workers' Compensation FAQs
OSHA UPDATE: NEW REPORTING REQUIREMENTS START JANUARY 1.
Beginning January 1, 2015, there will be a change to what covered employers are required to report to the Occupational Safety and Health Administration. Employers will now be required to report all work-related fatalities within 8 hours and all in-patient hospitalizations, amputations, and losses of an eye within 24 hours of finding about the incident. For more information and resources visit The Office of Occupational Safety and Health (OSH).
The Workers' Compensation Program is managed and administered through the Office of Workers' Compensation. For more information, contact the following:
DC Department of Employment Services
Labor Standards Bureau
Office of Workers' Compensation
4058 Minnesota Avenue, NE, Third Floor
Washington, DC 20019
Phone: (202) 671-1000
Hours of Operation: Monday-Friday, 8:30 am-5 pm