Department of Employment Services

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Eligible Training Provider List (ETPL)

The Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) requires states to maintain a list of providers approved to offer training to individuals eligible to receive WIOA funds. Federal law calls this list the Eligible Training Provider List (ETPL). The providers on the ETPL offer occupational skills training programs that are authorized to receive WIOA funding through Individual Training Accounts (ITAs). The list also enables American Job Center (AJC) Workforce Specialists to assist customers in selecting training programs that will help prepare them to obtain a job by equipping them with the skills that are required by local employers in a high-demand field.

The inclusion of a training provider on the ETPL, and designation of approval for ITA funding does not guarantee funds, nor is it a requirement that the Workforce Investment Council (WIC) or an AJC make any referrals to the provider. Moreover, the selection of an appropriate training provider is a mutual decision made by the AJC Workforce Specialist and the prospective participant, based on his or her individual preference.

View the Current: