does

Department of Employment Services
 

DC Agency Top Menu


-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Office of Wage-Hour Compliance

Important Announcements: 

COVID-19 Paid Public Health Emergency Leave Requirement
All employers with 50 – 499 employees, that are not healthcare providers, are required to provide full-time and part-time employees with up to two weeks of paid sick leave for the following reasons related to COVID-19: 

  •  To follow a Federal, State or local quarantine or isolation order
  • To take precautions advised by a healthcare provider to self-quarantine
  •  If the employee is experiencing COVID-19 symptoms and is awaiting a diagnosis
  • To care for an individual subject to a quarantine order
  • To care for a child whose school or place of care is closed due to COVID-19 related reasons
  • If the employee is experiencing any other similar condition specified by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Minimum Wage 

Beginning July 1, 2020, the minimum wage in the District of Columbia will increase from $14.00 per hour to $15.00 per hour for all workers, regardless of the size of the employer.

The base minimum wage for tipped employees will increase from $4.45 per hour to $5.00. However, if an employee’s hourly tip earnings (averaged weekly) added to the base minimum wage do not equal the District’s full minimum wage, the employer must pay the difference.

Minimum Wage Amendment Revision Act Poster – (English / Spanish )

District of Columbia Security Officer Minimum Wage Increase

Need to file a claim? Click here.  

OWH Compliance 

The Office of Wage-Hour conducts compliance audits and works to recover unpaid wages for employees who have not been paid pursuant to DC wage laws, either administratively or through court action. Wage-Hour compliance involves ensuring adherence to the wage laws of the District of Columbia by holding employers accountable to the laws.

For Employers 
Please click on the link above for wage law information for Employers. Information includes required postings, notice to hire, wage law notices, Minimum Wage Tip Portal and more. 

For Employees 
Please click on the link above for wage law information for Employees. You can find information on how to file a claim, types of claims, claim forms, factsheets, posters, and FAQs.

Education and Enforcement
Please click on the link above for information on laws enforced by the Office of Wage-Hour. You will also find wage law posters, fact sheets, notices, rulemaking, reports, and webinars. 

Service Contact: 
Office of Wage-Hour Compliance
Contact Email: 
Contact Phone: 
(202) 671-1880
Contact Fax: 
(202) 673-6411
Contact TTY: 
(202)-698-4817
Contact Suite #: 
3600
Office Hours: 
Monday to Friday, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm
Service Location: 

4058 Minnesota Avenue, NE

GIS Address: 
4058 Minnesota Avenue, NE
City: 
Washington
State: 
DC
Zip: 
20019